Get Out the Vote!

P

Yes, I'm proud of my button. 😛

I spent most of the day phone banking for the local Get Out the Vote Campaign in my neighborhood. It was

My husband, taking a water break from the stresses of talking to strangers on the phone. XD

My husband, taking a water break from the stresses of talking to strangers on the phone. XD

a small group manning the phones at a local supporter’s home. The larger group of volunteers went door to door to canvass the neighborhood and make sure that anyone that needed a ride to the polls could get one. My husband and I chose phone banking, instead, because we ride motorcycles, and it’s kind of a pain to be taking the helmets off constantly and putting them back on. (Besides, it was cold, so I was all for opting to stay inside with the coffee and muffins. XD)

The other half relaxing on the bike when the volunteer shift was over.

The other half relaxing on the bike when the volunteer shift was over.

I had a few trepidations at first. I’m not really a ‘phone person’. I text, I email, but I hate talking to people that I can’t see. However, it wasn’t bad at all. In fact, after the first few calls, it was actually a lot of fun. I personally called over a hundred people, and 99% of them were very nice, very friendly. I got hung up on once, and a rude response once, but other than that it was great. Quite a few people actually

Another volunteer, hard at work getting the word, and the vote out.

Another volunteer, hard at work getting the word, and the vote out.

seemed to appreciate the information we were giving out, as where to go and what to bring to the polls can seem rather confusing, and we managed to garner some new volunteers for the coming few days before the election. I also ended up calling a few people that had already voted for Obama the day before, and that was really nice. With those calls in particular, there was a feeling of comaraderie, even of jubilation.

It was really great connecting with those people, and it was great getting to know the other volunteers. A breath of fresh air, really, to be able to be around a group of people that you know won’t automatically go into berate mode when they hear who you are voting for.

My husband, who is even less of a phone person than I am, even got into the spirit of things before it was

Our lovely organizer.

Our lovely organizer.

over with, although he started out pretty grumpy. XD

Unfortunately, we had to leave to get my son to work after a few hours, but I’m looking forward to going back to help on election day. After seeing the overall positive response we got, and the value of helping people that actually needed assistance with information and rides to the polls, I wouldn’t want to miss it for the world.

If you’re interested in helping out your own local Barack Obama Campaign for Change, you still have time. Just go to http://gotv.barackobama.com, and find your local event groups. It’s fun, it’s easy, and it makes you feel fantastic when you’re finished.

Another new friend.

Another new friend.

If nothing else, make sure to remind people to vote. We can’t get too complacent simply because the polls seem to be in our favor. If the remaining Obama supporters sit at home because they think the election is already in the bag, we just might wake up on Wednesday morning to find out that our country is going to be run by John McCain and Crazy Palin. Get out and vote, and get out the vote. We can win this, we just need to make sure that we all do our part.

Leave a Reply

