Michele Bachmann and her Anti-American Paranoia

Oh yeah, she’s crazy. Moreover, she may just be a threat to America, herself. I certainly can’t find any benefits to having her in any sort of leadership position. Of course, common sense tells me that she’s such an obvious idiot that no one would listen to her, but then reality kicks me in the face and reminds me that, for some inexplicable reason, a bunch of people actually voted for her. WTF were they thinking?

In case you don’t know why I’m ranting about this woman that you’ve probably never heard of before today, check out this video:

To summarize: “Palin is great…blah blah blah…Obama is a terrorist…blah blah blah…Democrats and Liberals are anti-American…blah blah blah…Congress should be investigated to find the secret anti-Americans…blah blah blah…Long live McCarthy…blah blah blah…Where is my tinfoil hat…something…something…something…Dark Side.”

A lot of us think that the country is in trouble. A lot of us aren’t pleased with the job that the government has been doing. A lot of us think that radical change needs to take place. So I guess you think that a lot of us are anti-American, don’t you Michele? Was Martin Luther King, Jr. anti-American, Michele? For that matter, were you anti-American when you were leading protests in order to foster change in this country that you felt strongly about? I know what my answer would be when asked any of those questions–“No”. However, ask me if I think that your ignorance, your partisanship, your fearmongering, your resistance to recognizing the very principles that make this country great (one of which is our right to think that the country is not-so-great) make you the actual definition of anti-American.

But enough of that. I’m pretty sure that most thinking people (and I mean people that actually think–not blindly spew the repetitive bile that is fed to them by others with no real understanding) know that the very act of going around calling people anti-American is, well (no way to avoid the hypocrisy here, unfortunately) anti-American. However, this whole surreal episode has led me to the question, “Who is this strange and ignorant person?” A quick web search gave me a few answers.

First, lets take a quick look at her voting record.

  • No to expanding the State Children’s Health Insurance Program.
  • Yes to warrantless wiretapping.
  • No to repealing tax breaks for big oil companies to fund renewable energy sources.
  • No to lowering interest rates on student loans.
  • No to lower pharmaceutical prices for medicare recipients.
  • No to increasing the minimum wage.

Darn it, I’m about to sound like a political ad and I hate it, but it begs to be said. Do we really need to listen to the views of a woman that seems to be against any kind of common sense, against freedom, against the majority of America, on what is or is not anti-American?

Okay, time for a little more research, this time to Wikipedia. First thing I notice is that she used to be a democrat, and that she once campaigned for Jimmy Carter. She also came from a democratic family. I wonder if she disowned them for being anti-American? Hmmm…

I also enjoyed the appropriateness of a direct quote from Michele, “I must be a nutcase.” I think she hit the nail on the head with that one.

Reading further, I learned that she is former political activist. More anti-American activity, by her definition, from Ms. Bachmann. Mmmm…I love the smell of hypocrisy in the morning.

I was then enlightened as to her problems separating church and state, as well as stumbling across more evidence of her paranoia (and a spectacular case of flip-flopping):

From Wikipedia:

During an interview with St. Cloud Times reporter Lawrence Schumacher on February 10, 2007, Bachmann claimed to know of a plan, already worked out with a line drawn on the map, for the partition of Iraq in which Iran will control half of the country and set it up as a “a terrorist safe haven zone” and a staging area for attacks around the Middle East and on the United States, to be called “the Iraq State of Islam, something like that”.[50] In a subsequent interview with the Associated Press, Bachmann retracted and said that she knew of no actual plan to divide Iraq with Iran to create a new “terrorist safe haven” state.

Uh-huh. Okay, Michele.

Down a few paragraphs, I caught an instance of Michele telling a bald-faced lie to protect her own interests (a lying politician–le gasp!):

In February 2008, Bachmann voted against an extension of the Protect America Act.[56] Later in March, she submitted an op-ed to the Star Tribune arguing that the PAA ought to have been passed and faulting House Democrats for its failure to do so.[57] The extension had been proposed and overwhelmingly supported by Democrats.

Of course, to her credit, she did fight the good and honorable fight to save the incandescent light bulb. Maybe she’s mavericky like Palin, too. </sarcasm>

Next stop, YouTube, because I love good video as much as the next guy, and there’s nothing like getting it direct from the horse’s mouth (or at least the horse’s mouth caught on tape).

First, I enjoyed Michele’s views on global warming (I also enjoyed her big, Mod Squad hair, but that’s a story for another blog):

Okay, I understand that she doesn’t believe in global warming. Many people don’t, and aren’t ready to make up their minds either way. However, she should at least get her facts straight, or, at the very least, try a little harder to not sound so foolish. (To summarize the above link, I’ll post the very excellent graphic found therein):

Next up, a lovely little vid in which Bachmann hems and haws, backpedals and contradicts herself, and makes no sense whatsoever, in the end coming across as an opportunistic liar and mild schizophrenic:

Go on over to YouTube and do a search for Michele Bachmann videos yourself. You should be mildly entertained. She’s a strange woman. The most notable thing I noticed, aside from what I’ve posted here, is that she seems to get laughed at by her co-workers and peers quite often, presumably for constantly saying such stupid things (or for hiding in the bushes at gay rallies). I feel sorry for her constituents.

“Literally, if we took away the minimum wage—if conceivably it was gone—we could potentially virtually wipe out unemployment completely because we would be able to offer jobs at whatever level.” —Michele Bachmann

“Many teenagers that come in should be paying the employer because of broken dishes or whatever occurs during that period of time. But you know what? After six months, that teenager is going to be a fabulous employee and is going to go on a trajectory where he’s going to be making so much money, we’ll be borrowing money from him.” —Michele Bachmann, 1/26/05, explaining why teenagers should pay employers for the privilege of working instead of receiving minimum wage.

“If raising the minimum wage to $7.00 an hour is a good idea, that why dont we just raise it to $20.00 an hour, that must be even better.” —Michele Bachmann

“It isn’t that some gay will get some rights. It’s that everyone else in our state will lose rights. For instance, parents will lose the right to protect and direct the upbringing of their children. Because our K-12 public school system, of which ninety per cent of all youth are in the public school system, they will be required to learn that homosexuality is normal, equal and perhaps you should try it. And that will occur immediately, that all schools will begin teaching homosexuality.”Michele Bachmann

(On gay marriage) “This is a very serious matter, because it is our children who are the prize for this community, they are specifically targeting our children.”Michele Bachmann

“The sex curriculum will be essentially by taught by the local gay community.” Michele Bachmann

“If you’re involved in the gay and lesbian lifestyle, it’s bondage. It is personal bondage, personal despair and personal enslavement.” Michele Bachmann

“They aren’t just kind of gay-friendly, they are gay advocates at Proctor and Gamble… Here’s just a few other companies that support the pro-homosexual agenda. They include Levi-Strauss, American Airlines, Sarah Lee Bakery, Jaguar and LandRover.”Michele Bachmann

“You have a teacher talking about his gayness. (The elementary school student) goes home then and says “Mom! What’s gayness? We had a teacher talking about this today.” The mother says “Well, that’s when a man likes other men, and they don’t like girls.” The boy’s eight. He’s thinking, “Hmm. I don’t like girls. I like boys. Maybe I’m gay.” And you think, “Oh, that’s, that’s way out there. The kid isn’t gonna think that.” Are you kidding? That happens all the time. You don’t think that this is intentional, the message that’s being given to these kids? That’s child abuse.” Michele Bachmann

“I am so proud to be from the state of Minnesota. We’re the workingest state in the country, and the reason why we are, we have more people that are working longer hours, we have people that are working two jobs.”Michele Bachmann

God help us all if anyone ever actually listens to her.

10 responses to “Michele Bachmann and her Anti-American Paranoia

  1. *screams*

    these repub broads scare the beejesus out of me. what do you fight crazy with? rationale doesn’t seem to help.

  2. @jenny: I don’t think you can fight crazy like this directly–you can only warn your fellow man. ;)

  3. This post has been included in the Replace Michele Bachmann web carnival:

    http://tinyurl.com/6fnn8a

    (Where you may find some additional interesting reading!)

    GTL

  4. As someone who actually lives in the MN 6th Cong. District, I gotta tell you, she is a total nutjob.

    She’s now saying that she was “trapped” into talking about Obama being “anti-american”…yeah right. All you had to do was keep your trap shut, fool.

    Michele Bachmann == Mrs. Joe McCarthy

  5. It’s easy to target the ones you hate like Michele Bachmann, but how different from her are any of you? You don’t agree, so you call them stupid or nut jobs. How immature! You eye lense’s are so rose coloured. I have met so many people in America that HATE just because they do not agree with each other. Please stay in America, and don’t spread your hatred to the rest of the world.

  6. How different am I? Plenty different.

    1. I am not a government official, paid by taxpayers.
    2. I do not pose a threat to anyone’s constitutional freedoms.
    3. I am not proposing a witch hunt to ferret out people with differing views while I sit in my position of power.
    4. I am not a paranoid, raving lunatic.

    I’m sorry you don’t understand how dangerous this woman’s attitude is. I’m also sorry you don’t understand government accountability, and our duty to keep an eye on them, but there it is.

  7. You do promote Hate speech. Your blinded because you either surround yourself with people of the same belief or you may be just ignorant of that fact.

    1. I am not a government official, paid by taxpayers. “Too bad, maybe you should run for office. You would fit in well.”

    2. I do not pose a threat to anyone’s constitutional freedoms. “No, but the opinions expressed on your blog suggest you would like to.”

    3. I am not proposing a witch hunt to ferret out people with differing views while I sit in my position of power. “I get it; you’re referring to someone in your government, not as an writer of a blog. ”

    4. I am not a paranoid, raving lunatic. “Did you come to that conclusion yourself or did you have someone qualified attest to that? (Yes, I get it, your attempt at showing dissent towards another person you disagree with.)”

    I know readers of your blog or yourself with start attacking my comments with hateful rhetoric. If they get this far in my comments without lashing out or suppressing themselves after reading this far.

  8. You don’t seem to get it, sweets. Let me break it down for you a little further:

    Projected outcome if my blog influences people: Bachmann doesn’t get reelected.

    Projected outcome if Bachmann influences people: Read up on McCarthyism, and you tell me.

  9. Your comment:

    “You don’t seem to get it, sweets. Let me break it down for you a little further:”

    You belittle me. I am a lesser person to you, than you, because you think I do not agree with my comments.

    Joseph McCarthy, tried to root out those he disagreed with. Not unlike you.

    Renny.

  10. I wish only the best to you either way. Thank you for your correspondence.

    Sincerely,

    Renny.

Leave a Reply

